Menu
virtual tour

Van Eyck. An Optical Revolution

“If you love art, you’ll love this show” – BBC
“So unlikely to be repeated that the museum might as well use ‘now or never’” – Wall Street Journal
“ «Die größte Jan van Eyck-Ausstellung, die es je gegeben hat» – das ist nicht gerade ein Understatement” – Die Zeit
“Un moment exceptionnel … Van Eyck comme vous ne le verrez plus jamais” – La Libre

The largest Jan van Eyck exhibition ever

From February 1st until March 12th 2020, the Museum of Fine Arts Ghent (MSK) hosted the largest Jan van Eyck exhibition in history. During these weeks, nearly 130,000 visitors came closer to Van Eyck than was ever possible before, but unfortunately the COVID-19 crisis forced us to close the exhibition earlier.

Only about twenty works of this Flemish master have been preserved worldwide. At least half of them travelled to our museum. They were brought together with work from Van Eyck’s studio and copies of paintings that have since disappeared. But also with more than 100 masterpieces from the late Middle Ages. No less than 13 museum galleries were redesigned for the exhibition.

 

About the MSK Ghent

The Museum of Fine Arts Ghent (MSK) is the oldest museum in Belgium. In the extensive permanent presentation you’ll discover over 600 masterpieces of European painting and sculpture, from the Middle Ages up to the present, with an important selection of (Belgian) art from the 19th and the first half of the 20th century.

Organisation and collaboration

This exhibition is made possible through the close collaboration with: the Flemish Community — Department of Culture, Youth & Media, the City of Ghent, Visit Flanders, St Bavo’s Cathedral, the Ghent University Art Historical Department, the Henri Pirenne Institute for Medieval Studies at Ghent University, the Flemish Research Centre for the Arts in Burgundian Netherlands, and the Royal Institute for Cultural Heritage (KIK-IRPA).

Compilation of the exhibition
Maximiliaan Martens, Till-Holger Borchert, Jan Dumolyn, Johan De Smet en Frederica Van Dam, with the cooperation of Matthias Depoorter

Project leadership
Johan De Smet and Ellen Wyns

 

Visitors with a ticket valid between 13 March and 30 April are entitled to a refund. If you haven’t received an email from us or if you bought your ticket in the museum, please consult the FAQ for more information.

Menu
visite virtuelle

Van Eyck. Une Révolution optique

“If you love art, you’ll love this show” – BBC
“So unlikely to be repeated that the museum might as well use ‘now or never’” – Wall Street Journal
“ «Die größte Jan van Eyck-Ausstellung, die es je gegeben hat» – das ist nicht gerade ein Understatement” – Die Zeit
“Un moment exceptionnel … Van Eyck comme vous ne le verrez plus jamais” – La Libre

La plus grande exposition jamais consacrée à Jan van Eyck

Du 1er février au 12 mars 2020, le MSK a accueilli la plus grande exposition dans l’histoire sur Jan van Eyck. Près de 130 000 visiteurs se sont approchés plus proche que jamais de Van Eyck, mais malheureusement la crise de COVID-19 nous a obligés à fermer l’exposition plus tôt que prévu.

Seule une vingtaine d’œuvres du maître flamand sont conservées dans le monde. Au moins la moitié d’entre elles ont fait le voyage jusqu’à Gand. Elles y côtoyaient des œuvres de l’atelier de Van Eyck et des copies de tableaux aujourd’hui disparus, mais aussi plus de 100 chefs-d’œuvre du bas Moyen Âge. Non moins de 13 salles du musée ont été réaménagées à cet effet.

À propos du MSK Gent

Le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Gand (MSK Gent) est un musée pour tous, jeunes et vieux. C’est un lieu de rencontre animé, où le visiteur part à la découverte de l’art, du Moyen Âge à nos jours, dans un cadre unique.

Organisation et collaboration

Cette exposition était le fruit d’une collaboration étroite avec : la Ville de Gand, la Fabrique d’église de la cathédrale Saint-Bavon, Toerisme Vlaanderen, la Communauté flamande – Département Culture, Jeunesse & Médias, l’Unité d’enseignement et de recherche sur l’Histoire de l’art de l’UGent, l’Institut d’Études médiévales Henri Pirenne de l’UGent et l’Institut royal du Patrimoine artistique (IRPA-KIK).

Composition de l’exposition
Maximiliaan Martens, Till-Holger Borchert, Jan Dumolyn, Johan De Smet et Frederica Van Dam, avec le concours de Matthias Depoorter

Direction du projet
Johan De Smet et Ellen Wyns

Les visiteurs qui ont demandé le remboursement de leur billet valable entre le 13 mars et le 30 avril ont été remboursés. Si vous n’avez encore rien reçu, ou si vous avez acheté votre billet au guichet, veuillez consulter les questions fréquemment posées.